Sightseeing in Doha

We’re nearing the end of our first week and I thought I’d write about some of the beauties we’ve visited.

When the heat wasn’t melting my phone or my brain, I did manage to take some photos but now that I look back at them, they’re really not up to the standard I’d hoped for. They don’t do justice to the beauty of the city and due to the mad rush in evenings, every photo is full of crowds and crowds of people. Believe me, taking a good photo out here is difficult; I wish I had more to share.

The limited number of pictures are a combination of photos taken by moi and photos courtesy of good ol’ Google.

Villaggio Mall

Villaggio-Mall-3
Photo courtesy of raredelights.com

I think this place is by far my favourite. Just look at it – it has an indoor canal with gondolas! Shop fronts sit beneath an Italian-themed decor instantly transporting you to a make-believe Venice.

14163815_1248488251878529_664669651_o - Edited.jpg

14203524_1248488271878527_1578014328_o - Edited.jpg

14191756_1248488265211861_1507231191_o - Edited.jpg

Tucked away towards one corner of the mall is an altogether different interior and here you can find every designer shop under the sky.

medium_large_aea36004039115ab79b5199cc8f36eb7
Photo courtesy of afar.com

14203539_1248488318545189_785197169_o - Edited

14163785_1248488308545190_90456707_o - Edited (1).jpg

And that’s not all. Yes, there’s more.

The Villaggio has an indoor theme park (say whaaat?). Okay, so the indoor theme park has nothing and I mean nothing on Blackpool. But it does host: a bowling alley, laser quest, typical fun-fair rides such as rollercoasters and ferris wheels, go-karting, bumpy cars on water (I don’t know, don’t ask), ten-pin bowling alley and an ice skating rink. There’s a 4D cinema too.

Villaggio mall really is the one-stop source of all kinds of entertainment.

Souq Waqif

A-Look-at-the-Souq-Waqif-in-Qatar.jpg
Photo courtesy of essayplant.com

Souq Waqif is a huge indoor market. Situated next to Al Corniche, it is one of the main tourist attractions in Doha. You can find everything under the sun here. It is renowned for it’s beautiful architecture which dates back at least a hundreds years. We ate at an Indian restaurant where I had a bit of daft moment and asked hubby: Is the food halal though?

14139509_1248487835211904_273409636_o - Edited

The achaar tasted just like the one my Nani used to make; I would go back a hundred times over just for the starters.

Souq Waqif is also known for it’s pet market. I hated this part the most. I couldn’t bear to see grown cats caged in tiny metal cages, and so many birds, rabbits, and other animals trapped in a similar way. I know people buy them but really, how many people buy pets from market stalls? Especially as the souq’s visitors are generally tourists and questions have been raised (in the past) about the validity of vaccination certificates.

The conditions the animals are kept in – in cages, on stalls where there’s hardly any a.c. – made me want to run away.  Hubby on the other hand wanted to buy a parrot to match his Chelsea shirt. Typical.

14164083_1248487735211914_426034643_o - Edited.jpg

Anyway, if you would like to see more of Villaggio mall, you can watch the promotional video here and you can find out more about what Souq Waqif has to offer here.

I don’t know how I’m restraining myself but the next outing in sha Allah has GOT to be Qatar National Library!

12 thoughts on “Sightseeing in Doha

    1. Aww really? Well I was hoping to have a look at the museums and libraries yet (I love places like that). I’m happy to sit indoors all day with a good book to be honest, I’m not too fussed about having lots to do outside haha. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I see. Most accesible museum is at MIA Park. It’s along corniche road. You can check google, there’s a lot of museums here. Unfortuntely I haven’t found yet good library here. Keep us posted if you found one! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ahh that’s such a shame. I love libraries. A colleague of mine recommended university libraries as they have a lot of books in English. Have you tried Georgetown University’s library? 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

  1. WOW!!! We booked flights with a stop over in Doha (the price and travel times were good so why not?) not knowing anything about it. Now reading your post, can’t wait to get there! A couple of nights maybe too little…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is beautiful out here, if you’re only stopping by for a while then visit the malls but for a longer stay you could go on a boat or camping in the desert. The weather right now is ideal for sight seeing. Hope you have a great time let me know how you get in 😊😊

    Like

    1. Hi, I would definitely recommend exploring Doha but if by a few months you mean August/September then I’d advise against it because it will be toooo hot. It’s already 40 degrees now and people only really go out at night. Of course, there’s air con in indoor places but outside you will feel like you’re on fire lol x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

