One Year Blogiversary

It was my one year blogiversary on December 13th! Yay me!

I won’t repeat the clichéd ‘OMG I can’t believe I’ve blogged for a whole year,’ because as you’re about to find out, I didn’t blog for the whole year.

In the beginning…

When I started blogging it was to overcome writer’s block and find some inspiration. The dailypost has been really useful for this even though I only ever published one of my responses.

As much as I loved sharing short stories and poetry, I soon found myself in a dilemma: what exactly should I share online? The crappy, underdeveloped stuff that no-one (not even I) would enjoy reading? Or the pieces I’ve toiled over, posted out there for all to judge or potentially plagiarise?

wp-1482160353874.gif
‘I have done things…I wrote half a book about zombies.’

The middle…

It was only later this year – August to be precise –  when things kicked off. I broke my ‘most views’ record with this post about my dissertation. Those of you who connected with it probably feel the same way as I do when I say it’s a topic that’s very dear to me, and one that we all have a lot to say about. That reminds me, I should do a follow up post now that I’ve completed the course…

I know stats don’t mean anything: it’s about the pleasure of reading and writing, and connecting with others. But that doesn’t mean I’m not curious about what works and doesn’t. And when I analyse my stats, I’m always surprised. The posts I think will do well fare average views. But posts that are personal or are catered to a specific audience end up becoming the most viewed pieces.

While autobiographical pieces are great as they’re a form of catharsis and they capture our experiences for future reference, they’re not the reason I started blogging. I’m hardly going to expose my heart for all to see and besides, I hate the idea of my blog serving a completely narcissistic purpose.

Having said that, I don’t think anonymous blogging is for me- I would still keep private things private. Also, having my name attached to my blog forces me to produce content whereas if it was anonymous, you wouldn’t be here right now.

So, considering I’ve only blogged for about half of the time I’ve been here, I’m super chuffed to have reached 3,400 views. To think my words reach people in different corners of the world…well, it’s pretty cool.

Not ‘The End’…

Hubby laughs at me because I wake up at ridiculous o’clock even on weekends. He says I must be the only crazy girl in the world who prefers work over her beauty sleep. But that’s the time I’m most productive, and the only time I can factor in blissful, almost endless hours of wordpress.

wp-1482301709016.gif
Me at 5am on Fridays

I can’t say what will or won’t happen in 2017 but I do have a tonne of plans to make this space grow, in sha Allah.

Finally, thank you: friends, subscribers, avid readers, and now-and-again-readers, for joining me on this journey and making it such a great half-year of blogging. Before I turn into Gwyneth winning her first Oscar, let’s end my last post of 2016.

See you on the other side of the new year!

paltrowoscar-gif_234338.gif

2 thoughts on “One Year Blogiversary

Leave a Reply

