I have been slacking a little on the blogging front. It’s not that I have nothing to write about, in fact, for a variety of reasons, I’m functioning at a veerrrryy slow pace.

The weather is heating up. It’s 35 degrees as I write this and the thought of doing anything after a long day at work – lesson planning, marking, blogging – anything at all, is just…so…difficult! It’s a wonder I manage to cook!  What doesn’t help this early onset of ‘Teacher On Summer Vacay Mode’ is that I’m two thirds of the way through the school year. It feels like the end except there is a whole term left *sob*.

I have been going to bed earlier, waking up later, and just generally taking things easier. While I would like to say all this is out of choice, for 3 weeks I’ve suffered the joys of an impacted wisdom tooth which is the mother of all toothaches, earaches, headaches, and apparently neck and shoulder pain too. I chickened out of getting it extracted, not only because I would need surgery but also because it’s the worst possible time of the year to be off sick. The dentist told me to get both of my wisdom teeth extracted on the same day which is a fantabulous idea. After all, they’re only impacted wisdom teeth and one of them is only half-lodged in my jaw, and the pain? Pfft, what pain?

So in this self-imposed state of distress, fever, and exhaustion, I am constantly mulling over blog topics but they just end up in the notes section of my phone. I am not pushing myself to meet deadlines. I also don’t want to burn out before Ramadan (which by the way,  will be our first Ramadan here & I’m sooooooo excited!).

March seems to have been a month of constant change. I ‘survived’ 10 days without hubby who took a second trip to the UK. He thought I would breakdown by the second day but I had a really relaxing time. Considering he called me a ‘fridge’ last night and wouldn’t stop sending me annoying snapchats of his newly discovered bitmoji, those 10 days were the best days of my married life. According to the gossipmongers, we are headed for a divorce anyway so it’s all good. (By the way, if any of you gossipmongers are reading this – Hi, please note, I’m being sarcastic. Try again next year? I know you will – you’re very predictable like that. K bye).

Last week it was midterm break (which is over now, boo!) and we went on our second trip to Dubai. It was much more spectacular than the first time and I already can’t wait to go again. We visited some new places this time, we managed to catch the last night at Global Village. Our amazing night closed on a sad note as (I think) one lady lost her child; I didn’t understand what she was saying but the eyes of a parent who’s lost a young child are easy to recognise. I couldn’t stop thinking about her all night…That frightened me; I don’t think I’d ever take young children there as it was so busy that even I nearly got lost! Or maybe hubby was trying lose me on purpose, mmmhh… We saw the beauties at Miracle Garden, and of course chilled again at the water park/beach at Atlantis. Alhamdullilah, alhamdullilah – I feel so grateful for all these amazing memories and the experience of living in the GCC. I never could’ve imagined my life would turn out this way and that too with the best life partner ma sha Allah. These moments remind me that Allah (swt) had this planned for me, even in those miserable dark times when I, being human, despaired and thought nothing would improve, He knew about these days…

So this was just an update to reassure you that no, I am not dead even though my tooth (and my husband) are relentlessly trying to kill me. And hopefully, this is the end of my unintentional strike :).

